Archaeology in the Park
Shore Acres Farm and Tourist CampFormerly located at the east corner of County Road 12 as it bends away from Lake Ontario heading north, and just south and opposite the former Hyatt House, (map below) this property operated as a tourist lodge from 1925 - 1945 with Amos and Emma (Hyatt) MacDonald, from about 1945 - 1967 by William and Eva May (Cleave) Wight, and from 1967 to 1976 by Donald and Margaret (Rhodes) Rombough. The facility offered accomodation in the main house, as well as in three cottages, with an area for camping just east of the buildings adjacent to the MacDonald family farms on West Point.
The buildings were demolished shortly after being purchased by the Park in about 1976.
Click on any image to view/download a higher-resolution version.
For non-profit use only; please respect our image copyright.
With many thanks to Randy Rombough, Quinte West, who supplied these unique images.
© 2021, John A. Brebner/Friends of Sandbanks
- Extent of Sand Drift 1852 to 1922
- Park Archaeology, West Lake Brick Factory
- Park Archaeology, County Road 12
- Park Archaeology, Evergreen Hotel
- Park Archaeology, Hyatt House
- Park Archaeology, Jacques Cottage
- Park Archaeology, Ackerman-LeHeup Cottages
- Park Archaeology, Lakeshore Lodge
- Park Archaeology, MacDonald Farm
- Park Archaeology, Maple Rest Heritage House
- A Personal History by Barb (Hyatt) Wells
- History of Maple Rest
- Park Archaeology, Palace of the Moon
- Sandbanks Provincial Park - A Cultural Resources Study, 1991
- Map of park archaeology sites